Slow down, you move too fast

Yes, part two of “Ring the Alarm: Is it Game Over for the Soundclash?” is coming up; I just need a couple of minutes time to relax and put it all together. Thing is, it’s that time of year when there’s just way too much to do and no time to do it. Keeping in mind the desire to slow down, I thought I’d revel in the plodding, wonderful syrup-y slowness of screwed and chopped. I love this stuff, and I even made my opinion public in a paper I wrote with Dave Stelfox at the EMP Pop Conference a few years back. Thing is, as much as I thought (and still think) OG Ron C’s Fuck Action series is pretty much one of the best things ever (if you don’t believe me, check here-it’s won over many people), I had not heard any screwed and chopped reggae or dancehall. Today seems like as good a time as any to unleash a couple of my own screwed experiments I’ve had sitting on the hard drive for quite a while. More slopped than chopped (I’m no master), first up is Sizzla’s “Karate”. Slowed down, the song that’s like a soundtrack to a haunted house at normal speed sounds extra fierce. But at the same time, there’s a little bit of Cookie Monster to his growl.

Second, there’s the less intense “All Shall Be Well” (with my added bits and pieces of delay that provide a somewhat annoying dubbiness).

One thought on “Slow down, you move too fast

  1. LOL RASTAMAN NUH DRINK SIZZURP…

    that chopped&screwed shit only works with that southern yankee crap…

Leave a Reply

